COMMISSIONERS Colleen Coyle Mathis, *Chair* Scott Day Freeman, *Vice Chair* José M. Herrera, *Vice Chair* Linda C. McNulty Richard P. Stertz



Raymond F. Bladine Executive Director

INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION 1100 West Washington Street Phoenix, Arizona 85007

News Release

Date: July 21, 2011 Contact: Kristina Gomez, Deputy Executive Director Phone: 602-542-5221 E-mail: kgomez@azredistricting.org

Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission seeks public input on new Legislative and Congressional district boundaries

The Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission invites residents to participate in its first round of statewide public hearings beginning July 21 and continuing until August 6, 2011. Information will be presented about the redrawing of Arizona's congressional and legislative districts. Public comment received during these meetings will be used by the Commission to help inform the drawing of new district boundaries. Chair Colleen Coyle Mathis urges all Arizonans to attend one of these important hearings as participation ensures their voice will be heard.

The Commission is making decisions about Arizonans' future voting districts. Voting districts determine what district a resident will vote in for representation in the United States Congress and the Arizona State Legislature. Redistricting is necessary as it takes into account any population changes from the last ten years and creates districts of equal population.

Arizona voters passed Proposition 106 in the 2000 General Election, amending the Arizona Constitution to create a five-member commission to redraw congressional and legislative district boundaries based upon census data. The commission is made up of two Democrats, two Republicans and an independent Chair elected by the other commissioners. The chair must not be a member of either party already represented on the Commission. Proposition 106 replaced the old process in which the State Legislature established the districts.

A list of the times and locations of the hearings is attached.

For more information about the Independent Redistricting Commission or to submit electronic comments, please visit www.azredistricting.org.

- 30 -