COMMISSIONERS
Colleen Coyle Mathis, Chair
Scott Day Freeman, Vice Chair
Cid R. Kallen
Linda C. McNulty
Richard P. Stertz



## INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION 4000 North Central Avenue Suite #1150

North Central Avenue Suite #1150 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Raymond F. Bladine EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Kristina C. Gomez
DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

## **U.S. Supreme Court Upholds Independent Legislative Redistricting**

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 -

Today, the United States Supreme Court unanimously held that Arizona's state legislative districts are constitutional.

The Commission is pleased with the Court's decision and is gratified that Arizonans will continue using the districting plans created by the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission in Arizona legislative elections through 2020. The Commission is grateful for the pro bono representation it received from Paul Smith and his team at the law firm Jenner Block.

## For additional information contact:

Joseph Kanefield, Ballard Spahr, LLP, at 602-798-5468